Oscar Peterson: Night Train (acoustic Sounds) (180

Album cover art for upc 602438075867
Label: VERVE
Catalog: 3807586
Format: LP

Oscar Peterson

The idea to baptize a train station in Peterson's name probably came to the fans while listening to the album "Night Train". Recorded in 1962 under the direction of Norman Granz with Ray Brown (bass) and Ed Thigpen (drums), the album is considered one of the absolute masterpieces of Oscar Peterson, and is one of the best-selling Verve albums of all time. Celebrating its 60th anniversary, this release features the complete original Oscar Peterson cult album, one of the many masterpieces recorded by the classic Peterson Trio with Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen. In addition to a number of Duke Ellington compositions, the LP also includes the earliest version of Peterson's legendary "Hymn to Freedom." Verve Acoustic Sounds Series: stereo, fully analog mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original tapes, QPR pressing (180 g), sturdy tip-on gatefold (Stoughton Printing), padded inner sleeve

Price: $45.98
On Sale