Mathias Eick: When We Leave

Album cover art for upc 602438563081
Label: ECM
Catalog: B003451002
Format: CD

Norwegian trumpeter Mathias Eick's expressive playing, which exudes a "flawless and penetrating tone" according to the New York Times, is remarkably complemented by his gifted fellow musicians. Violinist HÃ¥kon Aase, one of the preeminent improvisers of his generation, shadows the leader with lines that draw on both folk traditions and jazz In the course of reflective exchanges between drummers Helge Andeas Norbakken and Torstein Lofthus, a soundscape unfolds that can be attributed to unusually precise interaction. Pianist Andras Ulvo and bass guitarist Audun Erliern set their accents by navigating ideas between the main voices and the rhythm section at the centre of the action On several tracks, the delicate swell of Stian Carstensen's pedal steel guitar adds a mysterious dimension. When we leave was recorded in August 2020 at Oslo's Rainbow Studio.

Price: $19.98
On Sale
In stock
ships in 24 hours