Dyce - Four By Four, Discovering Young Composers O

Album cover art for upc 8011570371812
Catalog: STR37181

Divertimento Ensemble; Eggen, Christian; Gorli, Sandro; Taller Sonoro; Ensemble U:; Cikada Ensemble

From October 2018 to January 2019, after dividing Europe in four big regions, each managed by one of the partners, DYCE announced a call for scores addressed to composition students and alumni from all European Universities, Conservatories, Musikhochschulen and Music Schools. About 150 scores from every European country were evaluated by an international jury made up of Hanspeter Kyburz, Brigitta Muntendorf, Johannes Schöllhorn and the four artistic directors of the DYCE partners, Sandro Gorli, Christian Eggen, Tarmo Johannes and Ignacio Torner. Eventually, 12 scores were selected, 3 for each region. On 28 April 2019, the 12 winning pieces were performed at four concerts, held by the four DYCE ensembles, at different times in their respective four cities, with an audio/video streaming broadcast from each concert hall to the other three. In this way, the audiences of the four cities were able to listen to all 12 pieces: 3 live and 9 streamed. After the concerts, the audiences and the ensembles voted to select 4 composers from among the 12 winners: João Ceitil, Andreas Tsiartas, J-T Vesikkala Wittmacher and Yiqing Zhu. These composers were then commissioned to write a new piece to be performed in 2020 by the four ensembles in their own cities. This album presents the four new compositions, each performed by the ensemble in charge of the respective European region.

Price: $24.98