Andrew Hill: Passing Ships (tone Poet Vinyl)

Album cover art for upc 602435148427
Catalog: B003287401
Format: LP

Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill is one of the most distinctive pianists and composers in jazz. However, this deeply moving 1969 session was not released until 2003, when it was finally released on CD through the efforts of Blue Note archivist Michael Cuscuna. Hill wrote all seven compositions on Passing Ships for an ensemble featuring Woody Shaw and Dizzy Reece on trumpet, Julian Priester on trombone, Joe Farrell on saxophones, flute and bass clarinet, Howard Johnson on tuba, Bob Northern on French horn and Ron Carter on bass and Lenny White on drums. Passing Ships stands in comparison to Hill's greatest work and is presented on vinyl for the first time with this Tone Poet edition.

Price: $59.98
On Sale