Seven Days Walking / Ludovico Einaudi

Album cover art for upc 602577445156
Label: DECCA
Catalog: 7744515
Format: CD


1. Low Mist Var 1 (Day 1) 2. Low Mist (Day 1) 3. Gravity (Day 1) 4. Matches (Day 1) 5. Cold Wind Var 1 (Day 1) 6. Golden Butterflies (Day 1) 7. Fox Tracks (Day 1) 8. A Sense of Symmetry (Day 1) 9. The Path of the Fossils (Day 1) 10. Ascent (Day 1) 11. Low Mist Var 2 (Day 1)

'Seven Days Walking': seven bodies of music to be released over seven consecutive months. The first, 'Seven Days Walking: Day One', which interweaves piano and strings in his unmistakable style, is Einaudi's 14th studio album and will be released on March 15, on Decca.'Seven Days Walking: Day Two' follows a month later. Each 'day' is then released, digitally, a month apart, leading up to 'Day Seven' which will be released in the autumn in a box-set of the complete Seven Days. Inspiration for the entire project derived from walks that Einaudi would take through the mountains in winter. He explains, "In January last year I often went for long walks in the mountains, always following more or less the same trail. It snowed heavily, and my thoughts roamed free inside the storm, where all shapes, stripped bare by the cold, lost their contours and colors. Perhaps that feeling of extreme essence was the origin of this album." The first album focuses on several main themes, which then recur in different forms on the following albums seven variations following the same imaginary itinerary. Or the same itinerary, retraced at seven different times.