The Rippingtons: Fountain Of Youth

Album cover art for upc 099923937425
Label: Entertainment One Music
Catalog: EOM-CD-9374
Format: CD

The Rippingtons Feat. Russ Freeman

1 Spice Route (4:06) 2 Rivers of Gold (4:15) 3 North Shore (5:24) 4 We Will Live Forever (4:43) 5 The Sun King (4:14) 6 Fountain of Youth (4:05) 7 Emerald City (5:17) 8 Soul Riders (4:54) 9 Waterfalls of Bequia (2:58) 10 Garden of the Gods (5:04) The Rippingtons' 20th studio album, 2014's Fountain of Youth, is an expansive, layered, and stylistically varied release conceptualized around the travels of early European explorers like Juan Ponce de León, whose search for an elusive magical fountain inspired the album's title. Once again showcasing guitarist and longtime bandleader Russ Freeman, the album finds the journeyman smooth jazz outfit exploring a wide array of sounds, from the cinematic, flamenco-infused "Rivers of Gold" to the percussion and flute-heavy "We Will Live Forever" and the funky, blues-infused "Soul Riders." This is an ambitious, colorful release.

Price: $19.98