David Ian: Valentines Day

Album cover art for upc 812864019599
Label: PRR
Catalog: PR0003
Format: CD


1. Autumn Leaves 2. My Funny Valentine feat. Kevin Max 3. Stella by Starlight 4. Solitude feat. Acacia 5. Someday My Prince Will Come 6. Emily 7. Young and Foolish feat. Andre Miguel Mayo 8. Summertime feat. Talitha Walters - Wulfing 9. Night and Day 10. There Will Never Be Another You 11. Sweet By and By feat. Russ Taff (Bonus Track)

The addition of two legendary vocalists are of particular interest in this new David Ian release. Ian's arrangements of both the instrumental and guest vocal-led tracks carry a sense of dignity, straying not far from the melody. Upright bass, drums, and a vibrant piano head the album with an energetic instrumental take of "Autumn Leaves" and a brief trading of 4's to introduce the players. Kevin Max, flagships his first appearance on a David Ian recording with the well-loved "My Funny Valentine." His distinct vocal nuances shine with a transparent performance to this already emotional song while the band alternates between ballad and cut time feel. Acacia's familiar and chilling voice reaches deep inside a troubled soul in the song "Solitude." The essence of the song is delivered unresolved. At the end of the collection, there is a moment of respect that stands alone. Gospel vocal legend, Russ Taff, and Ian's fragile piano expressions create a solemn moment in the bonus track "Sweet By and By

Price: $19.98