Monteverdi: Selva Morale E Spirituale, Vol. Iii

Album cover art for upc 828021610929
Label: CORO
Catalog: COR16109
Format: CD

Harry Christophers & The Sixteen

Claudio Monteverdi
Selva morale e spirituale
1. Laudate Dominum (Secondo)
2. Iste Confessor (Secondo)
3. Magnificat (Secondo)
4. Credidi propter quod locutus sum
5. Pianto della Madonna 'Iam moriar,
mi fili' (Sopra il Lamento dell'Arianna)
6. Beatus vir (Secondo)
7. È questa vita un lampo
8. Confitebor tibi Domine (Secondo)
9. Memento, Domine, David
10. Laudate pueri (Secondo)
11. Salve Regina (Terzo)
12. Magnificat (Primo)

Without doubt, Monteverdi was the greatest of the early baroque European composers. He revolutionised the music of the theatre and the church by his dramatic and imaginative use of voices and instruments and by his daring harmonies and rhythms. Next to his Vespers of 1610, the Selva morale e spirituale of 1641 is his most significant and virtuosic collection of sacred music. Monteverdi stretches every singer's versatility to the limit in this demanding but exhilarating music. Included on this final volume are the eight part Magnificat (Primo) - one of the most impressive of all Monteverdi's settings with the added richness of doubling strings; the old style Credidi and Memento featuring the full choir; and the exquisitely beautiful soprano solo, Pianto della Madonna 'Iam moriar, mi fili', performed here by Grace Davidson.

Price: $27.98
In stock
ships in 3 to 5 days