Infinite. The Doors (sacd)

Album cover art for upc 753088124563
Label: APO

The Doors

No: 0814

Infinite, a deluxe, limited-edition, audiophile boxed set from Analogue Productions, contains all six legendary albums by The Doors - the self-titled 1967 debut (one of rock's most important), Strange Days, Waiting For The Sun, The Soft Parade, Morrison Hotel and the visceral L.A. Woman. Each album has been remastered in multichannel for hybrid SACD by Doug Sax and The Doors' original engineer Bruce Botnick. The surround sound originates from 96K, 24-bit files that were mixed and mastered from the original one-inch, eight track, 15-ips analog master tapes by Bruce Botnick for Elektra's 2006 DVD Audio release entitled Perception. For the SACDs, those files were then up-sampled without filters to DSD using the Weiss Saracon format converter and authored by Gus Skinas at the Super Audio Center. Infinite is packaged in a unique, high-quality fold-over box that contains extensive notes on each album, nineteen photographs and a 2,700-word essay by The Doors biographer Ben Fong-Torres, esteemed rock journalist and former Rolling Stone editor.

Price: $352.98