Martha Argerich: Music For Two Pianos

Album cover art for upc 5099920762322
Catalog: 5099920762322M
Format: CD

Performers: Martha Argerich with Gabriela Montero, Mirabela Dina, Lilya Zilberstein, Polina Leschenko, Yefim Bronfman and Giorgia Tomassi

CD 1:
Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker, Suite from the Ballet (transcribed for two pianos by Nicolas Economu); Rachmaninov: Suite No. 2 in C Op. 17; Rachmaninov: 6 Morceaux Op. 11; Brahms: Sonata in F minor for 2 pianos Op.34b
CD 2:
Brahms: Variations on a theme by Haydn for 2 Pianos Op.56b; Prokofiev: Symphony No.1 in D Major, Op.25 "Classical" (transcribed for two pianos by Rikuya Terashima)

To celebrate one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century and following a five year collaboration with the very special ‘Progetto Martha Argerich’, EMI Classics proudly presents this definitive Argerich compilation showcasing the very best music for two pianos from the highly respected Lugano Music Festival.
The high quality of performances on offer from the Live from Lugano Festival collections is clear. For the last three years these collections have been nominated for Grammy Awards - most recently Best Chamber Music Performance in 2008. Martha herself has won three Grammys in her career, for Best International soloist in 2005 and 1999 and Best Chamber Music Performance in 2004.
Each collaboration on this 2CD set sees Martha Argerich playing with some of the most talented pianists of their generation. Artists include Gabriela Montero, Mirabela Dina, Lilya Zilberstein, Polina Leschenko, Yefim Bronfman and Giorgia Tomassi.
No other pianist in the world nurtures and promotes emerging talent with the same level of personal commitment and belief as Martha Argerich. This is live music-making at its finest and the results of the collaborations displayed on this release demonstrate the magic that is created when these professional friends get together.
The compilation presents a reliable feast of well-established and unfamiliar repertoire and composers featured include: Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Brahms, Prokofiev and Lutosławski.