The Aldeburgh Connection: Our Own Songs

Album cover art for upc 774718138125
Catalog: MQSCD81381
Format: CD

The Aldegurgh Conncection
Piano: Stephen Ralls, Bruce Ubukata; Soprano: Adrianne Pieczonka, Monica Whicher; Mezzo: Elizabeth Turnbull; Tenor: Colin Ainsworth; Baritone: Mark Pedrotti

Allegory of Sweet Desire - John Greer ( Ancient Greek and Latin texts ); The Heart Mislaid - Derek Holman; Airs and Echos upon a Ground - Derek Holman; Stacey - John Beckwith; Liebesleid-Lieder - John Greer

In their 25th anniversary season, the Aldeburgh Connection brings an impressive and inspiring collection of songs, featuring the commissioned works of three Canadian composers: John Greer, Derek Holman and John Beckwith. These composers have played the most significant role in the Aldeburgh’s development and success over the years.
The recording features compositions inspired by a wide range of influences: an Agnolo Bronzino painting; classical Greek and Latin poetry; the poems of Douglas LePan; Henry Purcell’s Dido’s Lament; the music of Robert Burns and the writing of Canadian novelist Margaret Laurence.
Artistic directors and pianists Stephen Ralls and Bruce Ubukata perform alongside internationally acclaimed singers Adrianne Pieczonka, Monica Whicher, Elizabeth Turnbull, Colin Ainsworth and Mark Pedrotti to pay tribute to Canadian song and to commemorate the rich history of the Aldeburgh Connection.

Price: $18.98