A Meditation - St. John Henry Newman / The Sixteen

Album cover art for upc 828021619120
Label: CORO
Catalog: COR16191
Format: CD

Paul, Elisabeth; Christophers, Harry; Johnson, Simon; Budd, Jeremy; Hill, Katy; The Sixteen Choir; Davies, Ben; Collins, Daniel; Kidgell, Alexandra; Dougan, Eamonn; Dobell, Mark; Cooper, Julie

The five new choral works on this album – by James MacMillan, Will Todd, Anna Semple, Eoghan Desmond and Lisa Robertson – all grew from a meditation by St John Henry Newman. Newman was a theologian of towering stature and broad influence and his meditation resonates with great clarity in our present age of the re-evaluation of what we can and cannot do without, and of the profound human need for a sense of meaning and purpose. Canonized in October 2019, Newman's writings represent a rich and thought-provoking legacy and, alongside the new works presented, are immortalized in three well-known hymns and Sir Edward Elgar’s exquisite elegy 'They are at rest'. Also included are two of Elgar’s psalm settings – Great is the Lord and Give unto the Lord. These are monumental works for choir and organ, full of grandeur and drama, but also inherently simple. The album ends with a ’Bonus’ track by Bob Chilcott - also a Genesis Foundation commission - based on Psalm 139.

Price: $29.98
In stock
ships in 3 to 5 days