I'll Be Your Mirror: Tribute To Velvet Underground

Album cover art for upc 602435772202
Label: VERVE
Catalog: B003352602
Format: CD

1. Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe (3:50) 2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger of the National (3:44) 3. Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (4:43) 4. Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird, Lucius (6:55) 5. Run Run Run – Kurt Vile (6:59) 6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent, Thomas Bartlett (4:52) 7. Heroin feat. Bobby Gillespie– Thurston Moore (7:24) 8. There She Goes Again – King Princess (3:29) 9. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett (2:27) 10. The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C. (3:12) 11. European Sun – Iggy Pop (7:45).

The record’s debut track, a version of “Run Run Run” by Kurt Vile & The Violators, is out now. I’ll Be Your Mirror was overseen and executive produced by Hal Willner, Lou Reed’s dear friend, and producer who passed away last year. Willner was a master of the tribute album, with each project he worked on extending the magnitude of the artist or work under consideration. In particular, he very much viewed himself as a primary curator of Reed’s legacy, and the care and love he felt for his friend’s work is evident in every note on I’ll Be Your Mirror. Fittingly – and sadly – it is the last album he worked on. The release of I’ll Be Your Mirror marks the kickoff of a robust campaign of Velvet Underground activity in 2021. The tribute album was conceived in 2017 at the same time as Todd Haynes signed on to direct The Velvet Underground, the highly anticipated Apple Original film that just premiered at the 2021 Cannes Film Festival to rave reviews and marks Haynes’ first foray into the documentary space. The Velvet Underground will make its global debut in theaters and on Apple TV+ worldwide on October 15, alongside a soundtrack curated by Randall Poster and Todd Haynes via Republic/UMe.

Price: $18.98
In stock
ships in 3 to 5 days