Nordic Noir / Mari Samuelsen

Album cover art for upc 028948148790
Label: DECCA
Catalog: 4814879
Format: CD


[1] Timelapse – Uno Helmersson (from film Magnus) [2] Near Light – Ólafur Arnalds [3]-[5] The Mist Part I,II,III– Frans Bak (new composition) [6] Darf ich – Arvo Pärt [7] Love & Rage – Johann Söderqvist (from film Love and Rage) [8] Study in Rituals: Prelude – Johann Söderqvist, Mari Samuelsen (new composition) [9]-[10] Study in Rituals Part 1 and Part 2– Uno Helmersson (new composition) [11] Vél komne Med Æra – Geirr Tveitt arr. Simon Hale [12] Words of Amber – Ólafur Arnalds

Violinist Mari Samuelsen launches her solo career with an album of atmospheric music from leading composers from the Nordic crime genre. Features 30 minutes of new compositions by Frans Bak (The Killing), Uno Helmersson and Johan Söderqvist (The Bridge), as well as original music and arrangements by Arvo Pärt and Ólafur Arnalds. New compositions were written with Mari, as she was involved in the writing process through workshops with the composer. Mari has built a strong reputation for performing new music and reaching new listeners, through performances with Max Richter and The 12 Ensemble. She premiered this album repertoire at London’s Barbican Centre, May 2017.

Price: $18.98
In stock
ships in 24 hours