The Drifters: The Complete Releases 1953-62

Album cover art for upc 824046905521
Catalog: ACTRCD9055
Format: CD

The Drifters were one of the most successful and enduring groups on the R&B and soul scene, re-inventing themselves in different line-ups over the years to enjoy a lengthy chart career. This 71-track 3-CD collection focuses on the first decade of that career, when the group initially featured Clyde McPhatter as lead singer, before he embarked on a solo career, and the group went through several incarnations before Ben E. King became the featured vocalist during the latter years of the period covered. It comprises every record they released during that time, on which The Drifters received a label credit or on which they certainly performed (as on three titles released as Clyde McPhatter solo singles) - it also features a couple of rarities done under other names by Drifters line-ups. It includes 28 US chart entries, with 23 R&B hits, five of them No. 1s, as well as 19 pop hits, and naturally features classics like Money Honey, Dance With Me, Save The Last Dance For Me, When My Little Girl Is Smiling and Up On The Roof. It provides a comprehensive, definitive, and thoroughly entertaining overview of the important formative years of one of R&B's great vocal groups.

Disc: 1 1. Money Honey 2. The Way I Feel 3. Such A Night 4. Lucille 5. Honey Love 6. Warm Your Heart 7. Oh What A Dream 8. Please Don'T Freeze 9. Bip Bam 10. Someday You'Ll Want Me To Want You 11. Somebody Touched Me 12. White Christmas 13. The Bells Of St. Mary'S 14. What'Cha Gonna Do' 15. Gone 16. Everyone'S Laughing 17. Hot Ziggety 18. Adorable 19. Steamboat 20. Old Man River 21. Ruby Baby 22. Your Promise To Be Mine 23. Soldier Of Fortune Disc: 2 1. I Gotta Get Myself A Woman 2. Fools Fall In Love 3. It Was A Tear 4. Hypnotized 5. Drifting Away From You 6. I Know 7. Yodee Yakee 8. Drip Drop 9. Moonlight Bay 10. There Goes My Baby 11. Oh My Love 12. Try Try Baby 13. There You Go 14. Dance With Me 15. (If You Cry) True Love, True Love 16. Don'T Dog Me 17. This Magic Moment 18. Baltimore 19. Let The Boogie Woogie Roll 20. Lonely Winds 21. Hey Senorita 22. Save The Last Dance For Me 23. Nobody But Me 24. I Count The Tears Disc: 3 1. Suddenly There'S A Valley 2. Sadie My Lady 3. Honky Tonky 4. Souvenirs 5. Some Kind Of Wonderful 6. Honey Bee 7. Please Stay 8. No Sweet Lovin' 9. Sweets For My Sweet 10. Loneliness Or Happiness 11. Room Full Of Tears 12. Somebody New Dancin' With You 13. When My Little Girl Is Smiling 14. Mexican Divorce 15. Stranger On The Shore 16. What To Do 17. Sometimes I Wonder 18. Jackpot 19. Up On The Roof 20. Another Night With The Boys 21. Gee 22. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 23. Chew Tobacco Rag 24. The Spider Walk

Price: $26.98