Trygve Seim: Different Rivers

Album cover art for upc 601215952124
Label: ECM
Catalog: ECMI159521.2
Format: CD

1 Sorrows - 6:31 2 Ulrikas Dans - 7:51 3 Intangible Waltz - 5:54 4 Different Rivers - 5:57 5 Bhavana - 4:27 6 The Aftermath/African Sunrise - 6:16 7 Search Silence - :57 8 For Edward - 5:41 9 Breathe - 9:22 10 Between - 2:18

Different Rivers represents Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim's inaugural release for ECM, as the artist has performed and recorded with a legion of notable Euro-jazz musicians and forward-thinking modernists. Here, Seim garners steadfast and altogether sympathetic support from an aggregation of like-minded musicians, featuring trumpeter Arve Henriksen and accordionist Stian Carstensen, as the leader's 14-piece band melds prismatic horn and string-based arrangements with medium-tempo flows. On pieces such as the opener, "Sorrows," the ensemble renders solemn dirge-like melodies, although the soloists ultimately convey an alluringly beautiful sonic soundscape. Basically, Seim's debut is a relatively impressive one, while the band also integrates two-step waltz motifs, semi-austere classicism, and quaint melodies into its arsenal. However, there are a few superfluous interludes consisting of extended-note harmonies and minimalist-style themes that tend to plummet the often vibrant and, at times, lilting proceedings down to a snail's pace. ~ Glenn Astarita, Rovi

Price: $19.98
In stock
ships in 24 hours