Here Lies Love: Original Cast Recording

Album cover art for upc 075597957617
Catalog: NNS537579.2
Format: CD

Nonesuch Records presents the cast recording of David Byrne's HERE LIES LOVE. The recording features music by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim as performed by the original 2013 Public Theater cast of the HERE LIES LOVE musical starring Ruthie Ann Miles and Jose Llana as Imelda and Ferdinand Marcos. HERE LIES LOVE, which draws its name from Imelda's requested tombstone epitaph, was originally released in 2010 as an album with multiple singers performing the lead roles, including Santigold, Florence Welch (Florence + The Machine), Sia, Steve Earle, St. Vincent, Natalie Merchant, Tori Amos, Sharon Jones, Nicole Atkins, and many others. HERE LIES LOVE premiered at New York's Public Theater in April of last year and was extended four times. It won an Obie Award for music and lyrics; an Outer Critics Circle Award; Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Music, Lighting Design, and Projection Design; and two Theatre World Awards. The cast recording of HERE LIES LOVE features seven new songs written specifically for the musical including ''Child of the Philippines,'' ''The Fabulous One,'' based on Ninoy Aquino's famous speech ''A Pantheon for Imelda,'' and ''God Draws Straight,'' based on the book PEOPLE POWER: AN EYEWITNESS HISTORY. Of the new songs written for the musical, Byrne says ''I was thrilled with the result - I'd been gently nudged by my collaborators to write something that I'd never tried before.'' The physical copy of the recording includes an 80-page full color book with lyrics, credits, an introduction by Public Theater director Oskar Eustis and two essays about the creation of the piece by Byrne.

Price: $27.98