Lord Gallaway's Delight

Album cover art for upc 3760014195341
Label: Alpha
Catalog: ALPHA534
Format: CD

Les Witches; Siobhán Armstrong, Irish harp

Lord Gallaway's Delight
An Excellent Collection of Dances & Gaelic Laments
1 She Rose And Leit Me In 5'30
2 Counsellor Mc Donoghs Lamentation 8'
3 Miss Hamilton 4'30
4 Ye Ragg Set By A Gentlemen (Irish Rag) 4'
5 Mary O' Neill 3'30
6 Jennys Whim, Role The Rumple Sawny 2'30
7 Molly Halfpenny (Molly O'hailpin) 3'30
8 I Loved Thee Once 5'30
9 Da Mihi Manum (Tabair Dom Do Lámh) 4'
10 On The Cold Ground 3'
11 Bellamira 4'
12 Siege Of Limerick 3'30
13 Ld Gallaways Lamentation 6'
14 Sr Ulick Burk 4'30
15 Limbrick's Lamentation 6'
16 Lads Of Leight 4'
17 Johney Cock Thy Beaver, A Scotch Tune To A Ground 4'30
18 Kings Hornpipe, Newcastle 3'

The Witches continue their exploration of the music of the British Isles in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. This series, successfully launched with the disc Nobody's Jig, sheds new light on songs and dances at the intersection of the art music and folk music repertories.
Our team of witches is joined here by Siobhán Armstrong, a talented harpist specialising in the Irish repertory. Together they recount an alternative history of Great Britain and Ireland, following the tunes as one goes up the course of a river, discovering with delight the treasures each of them has in store: spellbinding melodies and vivid titles which, in their evocation of people and places, bring the pages of history back to life.

Price: $27.98