Celtic Thunder: Mythology

Album cover art for upc 602537227303
Label: VERVE
Catalog: B001785402
Format: CD

Celtic Thunder

1 Voices - 4:36 2 The Isle of Innisfree - 3:51 3 Now We Are Free - 4:08 4 Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair) - 3:04 5 The Rocky Road to Dublin - 3:18 6 Carrickfergus - 4:03 7 Hoedown - 3:21 8 Danny Boy - 3:32 9 Hunter's Moon - 3:46 10 She Moved Through the Fair - 3:43 11 Carolina Rua - 2:41 12 Katie - 3:25 13 Turning Away - 4:09 14 Tears of Hercules - 4:31 15 My Land - 4:39

Mythology, the tenth studio outing from the popular Celtic pop theatre troupe Celtic Thunder offers up a musical odyssey (with the usual internationally touring stage production) that charts the history of the Celts in Ireland. Produced by musical director and composer David Munro and featuring superb vocal performances from Emmet Cahill, Neil Byrne, Keith Harkin, Ryan Kelly, George Donaldson, and Colm Keegan, Mythology leans harder on tradition than previous outings, yet still finds time to toss in a few contemporary selections like the Evelyn Danzig and Jack Segal-penned, Harry Belafonte-perfected "Scarlet Ribbons (For Her Hair)" Lisa Gerrard's Gladiator ballad "Now We Are Free", and the ubiquitous "Hoedown" from American composer Aaron Copland's oft-utilized Rodeo, for good measure. For the most part, Munro and party stick with the classics, offering up typically lush and occasionally hammy, highly theatrical takes on emerald isle staples like "Danny Boy", "She Moved Through the Fair", "The Rocky Road to Dublin", "Carrickfergus", and "Isle of Innisfree", all of which are handled with great care by their respective soloists, and the musical sections sigh, swell, bellow and blow at all of the right moments. ~ James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Price: $15.98